

## HOUSATONIC RESOURCES RECOVERY AUTHORITY

# MINUTES Thursday, July 25, 2024, 2:00 p.m.

## Via Zoom

## Members or Alternates Present Bethel, Dan Carter

Bethel, Dan Carter
Bridgewater, Curtis Read
Brookfield, Steve Dunn
Kent, Marty Lindenmayer
New Fairfield, Pat Del Monaco
New Milford, Suzanne Von Holt
Newtown, Herb Rosenthal
Redding, Julia Pemberton
Ridgefield, Rudy Marconi
Roxbury, Patrick Roy
Sherman, Don Lowe
Wilton, Matthew Knickerbocker

## Others Present:

8	Jeff Capeci,	First Se	lectman,	Newtown
---	--------------	----------	----------	---------

1 Fred Hurley, Alternate Newtown

7 James Gracy, Alternate Redding

1 Barbara Henry, Alternate Roxbury

5 Ruth Byrnes, Alternate Sherman

11 Jennifer Heaton-Jones, HRRA

10 Jennifer Baum, HRRA

3 Rick Laigle, All American Waste

9 Brian Popovich, All American Waste

1 Kitty Kiefer, Selectman Salisbury

1 Robert Phillip, NHCOG

7 David Barger, First Selectman, Canaan

64 Casey Flanagan, First Selectman, Sharon

Dan Jerram, First Selectman, New Hartford

Rista Malanca, NHCOG

Jean Speck, NHCOG

Paul Harrington, Town Manager, Winsted

Michael Looney, DEEP

Brian Bartram, Salisbury/Sharon TS Op

Curtis Rand, First Selectman, Salisbury

Gordon Ridgway, First Selectman, Cornwall

Todd Arcelaschi, Mayor, Winchester

T. Bartram,

Jane Hall, Cornwall

Denise Rapp, First Selectman, Litchfield Todd Carusillo, First Selectman, Goshen

J. Cleavland

Ray Drew, Torrington PWD

## **Members Absent:**

Danbury, Weston

#### Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman M. Knickerbocker at 2:03 p.m. with 64 votes present from 12 towns.

## **Public Comment:**

No Public Comment

## **Chairman and Members' Comment:**

The Chairman welcomed guests from NHCOG and announced the HRRA members would be going into Executive Session.

R. Malanca and D. Jerram thanked the Chairman and HRRA members for their time and consideration to consider their request to join the HRRA.

## **Administrative Approvals:**

**a.) Minutes: Motion** by D. Lowe second by S. Dunn, to approve the minutes of June 27, 2024, (Attachment A). **Vote: The motion passed unanimously;** with 64 votes in favor.

## **New Business:**

7a.) \* Consider request to negotiate with Barkhamsted, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, New Hartford, Norfolk, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, and Winsted/Winchester to join and merge with the HRRA. The authority may enter Executive Session under Subsection (6)(D) of CGS 1-200 and Subsections (b)(7) and (b)(24) of CGS 1-210

**Motion** by S. Dunn second by D. Lowe, to enter executive session under Subsection (6)(D) of CGS 1-200 and Subsections (b)(7) and (b)(24) of CGS 1-210 for the purpose of reviewing the proposal of Barkhamsted, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Goshen, New Hartford, Norfolk, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, and Winsted/Winchester to join and merge with the HRRA, inviting Jennifer Heaton-Jones, HRRA and Jennifer Baum, HRRA.

**Vote: The motion passed unanimously;** with 64 votes in favor. HRRA members and staff entered Executive Session at 2:11 p.m. The HRRA members and staff came out of executive session at 3:09 p.m.

The Chairman announced the HRRA is not currently in a position to consider the request and proposal of the eleven towns joining the HRRA at this time. There are too many unknown factors for a path forward. The Authority's concerns include the HRRA's own supply contracts beyond the 2029 contract with Oak Ridge, the condition of the Wheelabrator WTE plant, the status of the Torrington transfer station, and the unknown logistics of where material would go with an expanded geographical footprint. The HRRA does not want to hold the northwest hill towns from moving forward with finding a solution. The Chairman offered to partner and provide advocacy at the state level to address the state's waste crisis. The Chairman offered comments from guest. J. Speck and D. Jerram expressed their gratitude for the consideration and would like to keep the dialog open.

#### Adjournment

**Motion** by R. Marconi, second by S. Dunn, to adjourn the meeting at 3:15 p.m. **Vote: The motion passed unanimously**; with 63 votes in favor.

Respectfully submitted, Jennifer Baum